What is the meaning of different colors’ dustbin?

In China, there are four main types of waste classification: recyclables, kitchen waste, hazardous waste, and other waste (dry waste).

The colors of various types of trash cans are as follows:

Recyclables: blue

Food waste: green

Hazardous garbage: red

Other garbage (dry garbage): gray

Extended information:

The recyclables mainly include plastics, cellophane, metal, and cloth.

Kitchen waste (referred to as wet garbage in Shanghai) mainly includes food waste such as leftovers, leftover leaves, bones, peels, and other foods. Compost can be processed on-site through biotechnology, and 0.6 to 0.7 tons of organic fertilizer can be produced per ton.

Harmful garbage refers to wastes that contain heavy metals and toxic substances that are harmful to human health or cause actual or potential harm to the environment. Including batteries, light bulbs, mercury thermometers, paint buckets, some home appliances, expired drugs, and expired cosmetics. These wastes are generally recycled or landfilled separately.

Other garbage (referred to as dry garbage in Shanghai) mainly includes bricks and ceramics, muck, toilet waste paper, paper towels and other difficult-to-recycle waste and dust, food bags (boxes) in addition to the above types of garbage. Generally, sanitary landfill treatment is adopted, which can effectively reduce the pollution to groundwater, surface water, soil, and air.





Scroll to Top